• pic
  • about university of la verne

History of the University of La Verne

The University of La Verne was founded in 1891 as Lordsburg College by members of the Church of the Brethren who had moved west. Both the college and the agricultural community were renamed La Verne in 1917, and the 1920s and 1930s found three-quarters of the student body in teacher education.

The next three decades saw campus facilities multiply fourfold, the Board of Trustees become independent of church control, and the student body increase and become more cosmopolitan without the college losing its commitment to service and to sound, values-oriented education. In the 1960s the college awarded its first master’s degree, and in 1979, it conferred its first doctorate.


In 1969, La Verne began offering degree programs off campus, and the following year it opened its College of Law. Reflecting these profound changes, the college reorganized in 1977 as the University of La Verne. The University founded its Orange County campus in 1981 and its San Fernando Valley campus in 1983. A decade later it created campuses in Ventura and San Bernardino / Riverside counties, and in 2000 established a separate campus for the College of Law in Ontario. Continuing the trend of improving services to students, La Verne developed the Central Coast, Kern County, and High Desert campuses. More information on La Verne’s regional campuses may be found here.



The University of La Verne is regionally accredited by the Western Association of Schools and Colleges (WASC). Information about La Verne’s accreditation process is available at http://www.wascsenior.org/institutions/university-la-verne.

The LaFetra College of Education at the University of La Verne is accredited by the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE), now known as Council on Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP). The College of Law is accredited by the State Bar of California and has been granted full approval by the American Bar Association (ABA) Section on Legal Education and Admission to the Bar. The Master of Public Administration program is accredited by the National Association of Schools of Public Affairs and Administration (NASPAA). The Doctor of Psychology (Psy.D.) in Clinical Psychology is accredited by the American Psychological Association. The Athletic Training Education Program is accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of Athletic Training Education (CAATE). The Legal Studies Program is approved by the American Bar Association.


Mission Statement

The University of La Verne offers a distinctive and relevant educational experience to a diverse population of traditional-age, adult, and graduate learners preparing them for successful careers and a commitment to life-long learning across the liberal arts and professional programs.

Core Values of the University of La Verne

Ethical Reasoning

The University affirms a value system that actively supports peace with justice, respect of individuals and humanity and the health of the planet and its people. Students are reflective about personal, professional, and societal values that support professional and social responsibility.

Diversity and Inclusivity

The University supports a diverse and inclusive environment where students recognize and benefit from the life experiences and viewpoints of other students, faculty and staff.

Lifelong Learning

The University promotes intellectual curiosity and the importance of lifelong learning. It teaches students how to learn, to think critically, to be capable of original research, and to access and integrate information to prepare them for continued personal and professional growth.

Community and Civic Engagement

The University asserts a commitment to improving and enhancing local, regional and global communities.


Nondiscrimination Policy

“The University of La Verne is committed to providing a quality, personalized educational experience for leadership and participation in a diverse society to a student population that reflects the full diversity of this country. This commitment is achieved through creating a climate that supports diversity, social justice and sensitivity to global interdependence. The University will engage our students, faculty, staff and the broader external community to achieve this campus climate.”



  • American Association of Colleges and Universities
  • American Council on Education
  • Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB)
  • Association of Independent California Colleges and Universities
  • Council for Higher Education Accreditation
  • Hispanic Association of Colleges and Universities
  • National Association of Independent Colleges and Universities
  • National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA)
  • National Collegiate Honors Council
  • National Council of Colleges of Arts and Sciences
  • The College Board